Keep Yourself Busy With This Question-Courtesy of John Scalzi

Fellow Blogger (John Scalzi) is always posting things that I enjoy, and I wondered why I wasn’t sharing these. This is a small tidbit from his Blog entitled “Whatever” :  Busy With a Deadline Today, So Keep Yourself Busy With This Question.

It asks readers:

What is your favorite relentlessly popular song?

By which I mean: The song that everyone knows (or did know, at the time), that took over the world in its day, which may or may not be good, depending on your definition of these things, but which you still listen to all the way through every time you hear it.

It took me a little while to think of mine, as I worked in music stores for many years and have a head full of terrible songs, especially those used for the stereo and TV salesman to move their product (Think “The 40 Year Old Virgin). The thought of voluntarily listening to this song the whole way through narrowed down the finalists, however. I have to settle on “Smells Like Teen Spirit” by Nirvana. Hopelessly overplayed, used inappropriately in commercials and covered by artists who were zygotes when this song was popular,  I still feel the way I did when I first saw the video for this song. I would never be able to turn it off, but it is far from my goal when listening to them, which I do to this day.

Please share yours!

One thought on “Keep Yourself Busy With This Question-Courtesy of John Scalzi

  1. Pingback: Bittersweet Symphony | Gorn Ornatus

Leave a comment